January 8, 2015

Dear Friends,

A timely and informative Resolution Against Common Core Co-Sponsored by Congressman Lou Gohmert (R)

Denounce the Common Core State Standards

Congressional summary: Strongly denouncing the President's coercion of States into adopting the Common Core State Standards by conferring preferences in Federal grants:

Whereas the development of the Common Core State Standards has transformed into an incentives-based mandate from the Federal Government;

Whereas the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 prohibits the establishment of a national curriculum by the Department of Education;

Whereas President Barack Obama and Secretary of Education Arne Duncan announced competitive grants through the Race to the Top program to adopt 'internationally benchmarked standards and assessments that prepare students for success in college and the workplace';

Resolved, That it is the sense of the House of Representatives that--

  • States and local educational agencies should maintain the right and responsibility of determining educational curricula;
  • the Federal Government should not incentivize the adoption of common education standards; and
  • no application process for any Federal grant funds should provide any preference for the adoption of the Common Core State Standards.

Opponent's argument against ( The Common Core State Standards provide a consistent, clear understanding of what students are expected to learn, so teachers and parents know what they need to do to help them. 45 states have adopted the Common Core State Standards [not adopted in TX, NE, AK, MN, and VA]. The nation's governors and education commissioners, through their representative organizations the National Governors Association (NGA) and the Council of Chief State School Officers (CCSSO) led the development of the Common Core State Standards and continue to lead the initiative. Teachers, parents, school administrators and experts from across the country together with state leaders provided input into the development of the standards. Source: HRes.476 & SRes.345 14-HR0476 on Feb 11, 2014


Tincy Miller
SBOE District 12

Contacts for Cities and School Districts

Allen Web Site
Phone: 972/727-0100
Allen ISD

Argyle Web Site
Phone: 940/464-7273

Carrollton Web Site
Phone: 972/466-3000
Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD

Coppell Web Site
Phone: 972/304-3670

Corinth Web Site
Phone: 940/497-4145

Dallas Web Site
Phone: 214/670-5111

Dallas ISD

Denton Web Site
Phone: 940/349-8200
Denton ISD

DeSoto Web Site
Phone: 972/230-9600

Farmers Branch Web Site
Phone: 972/247-3131
Carrollton-Farmers Branch ISD

Flower Mound Web Site
Phone: 972/539-6006

Frisco Web Site
Phone: 972/335-5555
Frisco ISD

Garland Web Site
Phone: 972/205-2000
Garland ISD

Grand Prairie Web Site
Phone: 972/237-8000

Irving Web Site
Phone: 972/721-2600
Irving ISD

Lucas Web Site
Phone: 972/727-8999

McKinney Web Site
Phone: 972/547-7500
            972/562-6080 (Metro)
McKinney ISD

Mesquite Web Site
Phone: 972/288-7711
Mesquite ISD

Murphy Web Site
Phone: 972/424-6021

Parker Web Site
Phone: 972/442-6811


Plano Web Site
Phone: 972/941-7000
Plano ISD

Richardson Web Site
Phone: 972/744-4100

Rowlett Web Site
Phone: 972/412-6100

Wylie Web Site
Phone: 972/442-8100
Wylie ISD


Mailing Address:  6505 West Park Blvd., Suite 306, #269     Plano, Texas 75093

Phone:    214-402-4630


© Copyright 2014 Golden Corridor Republican Women. All Rights Reserved

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software